Module 1 Discussion Forum

Re: Module 1 Discussion Forum by Karen E. Ford

by Karen Ford -
Number of replies: 0

As a third Career Student I came back to College NMC and the Great Lakes Maritime Academy to fulfill a "dream".  As a retired Naval Officer, I was placed in the Supply Corps due to first my background degrees in business and secondly because my vision was subpar for being in the line organization of the Navy and thirdly because it was a viable career path for women due to its "billeting" (job assignments) being assigned to positions that were of a Non-combatant type.  At the time I entered the Navy women were legally barred from assignment to position on any vessel or aircraft classed as combatant. At the time of my entry into the Navy until near the end of career in the Navy this legality existed.  I have always desired to serve for the good of others; thus my military career and then my teaching in a correctional setting for Ashland University and the State of Ohio.  Now it is time to fulfill my desire to serve others but to take on the challenge of learning to "drive the ship."  I then enrolled in the Great Lakes Maritime Academy in 2018.  I completed my training and have served as a Third Mate onboard the Schools Training ship over the last three years.  I hold a MBA in Business with an emphasis in Accountancy and an Interdisciplinary Doctoral PhD in Math, Business, and Education with an emphasis in Math Education.